Alexandria, VA (May 31, 2019)  Writers who promote recreational fishing could come away with cash awards and national recognition through the American Sportfishing Association’s (ASA)new Angling Awareness Awards. These awards recognize writers who inspire people to participate in recreational fishing.

ASA created the Angling Awareness Awards to support the Recreational Boating & Fishing Foundation’s (RBFF) industry-wide effort, called “60 in 60,” to increase the current 49.1 million U.S. anglers to 60 million in 60 months, or by 2021.

St. Croix Rods Inaugural Awards Sponsor

St. Croix Rods, a family-owned business headquartered in Park Falls, Wis. and a long-time ASA member, is the sponsor of this new awards program. St. Croix manufacturers both conventional and fly rods in their Wisconsin facility.

“For over 70 years, St. Croix Rods has been committed to growing participation in fishing at all levels – weekenders, families, competitive anglers and folks who pack a rod to bank fish after work,” said Jesse Simpkins, director of Marketing for St. Croix Rods. “When we heard that ASA was going to promote the 60 in 60 program through a writer’s contest, St. Croix absolutely wanted to be part of it. It’s through their passionate words that current anglers, people returning to the sport and newcomers get motivated to hit the water.”

Photo courtesy of St. Croix Rod

ASA Angling Awareness Awards

The awards program includes up to three endemic awards for pieces published in platforms that speak directly to anglers as well as outdoor lifestyle outlets; and up to three non-endemic awards, for pieces published in platforms not specifically geared to fishing or outdoor activities.

The awards recognize writers who write the most effective consumer-facing content that focuses on: 1) recruitment of new anglers into the sport; 2) retention of current anglers; or 3) the reactivation, or re-engagement, of lapsed anglers into the sport. These three efforts are known within the recreational fishing industry as “R3.”

The awards will be decided by a panel of volunteer judges.

The deadline for submissions is July 1, 2019.

Recognizing the Winners

Up to six prizes will be given, with up to five writers each receiving $300 cash awards, plaques and a customized St. Croix rod.

The Grand Prize winner will receive a $1,000 cash prize, a recognition plaque, a customized St. Croix rod and an invitation to attend ASA’s 2019 Sportfishing Summit which includes registration and housing assistance. This year’s Summit is being held October 8-11, at Skamania Lodge in Stevenson, Wash. The award will be presented on Thursday evening, October 10, during ASA’s annual awards dinner.

To Enter

Click here for all the award details.

Click here for the Submission form.

For more information, contact ASA Communications Director Mary Jane Williamson.

Photo courtesy of St. Croix Rod